Skip to content

What came first? The blog or the egg?

March 3, 2011

For the longest time I wanted to start another blog but I just couldn’t think of a name.  How can you start a blog without a name?

It’s like having a kid without naming it…it’ll just go through the rest of its poor life being called “that one kid”, develop behavior problems due to its perpetual identity crisis, and end up in drug rehab with Lindsey Lohan as a roommate.  Not cool.

Then…by a stroke of luck, my brain and my stomach joined powers and decided that a.) “sunnyside up” is the perfect phrase to describe my blog and b.) I was really craving some sunnyside up eggs.

Ergo the perfect combination: breakfast and a blog.

Why am I writing a blog?

Having ended my last blog, Green Girl Meets All American Boy, over a year ago, I’ve been itching to write again.  This time not just about trying to green my guy, but about everything and anything: graduating college (scary!), travel, food, the cure-all that is a long run, my family, job applications (also scary!), books, growing older and not necessarily wiser, people watching, my guy, and other general life-things.

What’s up with the name of your blog?

Of course, living in the limbo that is post-college/pre-AMAZING life can be confusing, exciting, and martini-inducing all at once.  I hope that this blog will remind me to keep a “sunnyside up” mindset through it all and as my aunt always says:

“Everything…look on the bright side.”

What’s up with your obsession with eggs?

Um…have you ever had sunny-side up eggs atop a mountain of hash browns and drizzled with ketchup?  Absolute heaven.  Breakfast is the most important meal of the day after all.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Joyce Chen permalink
    March 3, 2011 9:52 pm

    ummm…you do realize your sister (me) is a lacto vegetarian right? i don’t eat eggs. but i will read your blog regardless.

  2. AUDREY permalink
    March 7, 2011 6:37 pm

    J.C.

    I love eggs. I just can not get Maddi to eat them. Danny never ate eggs until recently, so there is hope for Maddi yet. I hope your blog keeps you up while you are in limbo. Limbo in Lawrence, I think that is an O.K. place to be.
    A.S.

  3. Jenessa permalink
    March 7, 2011 7:29 pm

    the name is perfect! optimism + food

  4. March 7, 2011 7:52 pm

    Janie– I love you, your sister, your writing, and your blog 🙂
    Keep it up!

  5. March 23, 2011 9:29 pm

    I stumbled upon your blog, and thought the picture above looks really cute. I love your blog title. Sadly, I can’t eat eggs because I am allergic to it. Still, I am looking forward to read more posts of yours.

    • Janie permalink
      March 25, 2011 8:50 pm

      Thanks so much! It stinks that you’re allergic to eggs but there are still so many delicious things to eat! What do you use to substitute eggs in your cooking?

Leave a Reply

