Skip to content

I can feel my butt getting bigger with every second I sit on this couch…

March 6, 2011

image from pickthebrain.com

It’s Sunday night and I’m sitting here having scrolled through Netflix a hundred times trying to find a good movie to no avail…and feeling utterly unproductive.

This weekend I have: 1. gone to work, 2. drank a lot of alcohol.

I feel like there’s more that I should be doing.  More reading, more creating, more volunteering, more experiencing, more learning, more something.  I am at the peak of my youth and metabolism and I should be out there saving the coral reef, writing a book, or baking a lasagna from scratch for the first time.

I spend all my time reading about what other people are doing, deciding what exactly I want to do with my dwindling youth, and before I know it, it’s Sunday night and I’m stuck on the couch with my guy passed out beside me.

So that’s why I’ve decided that this week I’m going to do something.  Something out of the ordinary but not necessarily extraordinary.  Something new.  Something I haven’t been able to get off my ass to do yet.  Something that isn’t: working out, going to work, looking for a job, eating, sleeping, watching Glee or Grey’s, or drinking.

In one week, next Sunday, I will get back on this blog and tell you what it is I did.  Get excited!

What is something new that I can try/do/accomplish/eat?  What is something new that you recently tried/did/accomplished/ate?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Andar permalink
    March 7, 2011 4:28 pm

    I’ve been reading a lot of DIY-design blogs lately, and it inspired me to learn a new craft. So I learned how to knit over the weekend. I feel like an old lady, but it’s fun! (:

  2. March 7, 2011 5:25 pm

    When I was your age, we made our own fun. You could knit, crochet, overeat, sleep, play with legos, get a pen pal, make origami out of recycled plastic bags, try heroin or make Christmas ornaments out of condoms! Free time ROX!

    • janiec52 permalink
      March 7, 2011 11:13 pm

      Thank you Dani. Condom Christmas ornaments. Hm…why didn’t I think of that one?

  3. Ryan permalink
    March 10, 2011 1:36 am

    Funny you should mention it — I just made lasagna from scratch on Sunday night. I’d be happy to loan you my pasta machine. Or you, me, and the “All-American Boy” can finally get together like we always say we should and make an afternoon of it. Even if his sister isn’t in town.

    • Janie permalink
      March 11, 2011 9:42 pm

      When I meant “homemade lasagna” I totally meant with anything not from Stouffer’s, but lasagna from scratch? That sounds amazing and a lot of fun! I’ve never done anything like that before and would love to sometime soon. Let us know when you have some free time and we’ll be over!

Leave a Reply

