Skip to content

Mind Maps and Puzzle Pieces

March 15, 2011

In two weeks, I will officially be starting my first grown-up, 9-5, health insurance-included, khakis-required job.

While this warrants a solid YAY, some confetti throwing, and a bottle of wine…a post about all that will come later.  This post is about the next 14 days where I will be technically unemployed for the first time since I was 16.  For the next 14 days I will have non-stop free time to do whatever I wish.  And while I could certainly use this time to watch back-to-back Criminal Minds reruns and sleep for 12 hours a day, I feel like this 2 week hiatus from working is a gem not to be wasted.

Last Sunday I wrote a post about wanting to do something, anything. I told myself that I would accomplish one thing that week, no matter how big or small.  While I didn’t save the coral reef or write a book or make a lasagna from scratch, that “something” that I did was definitely quitting my job.

Now I not only have one week, I have two.  And it’s not like I can quit my job two more times.  What is a girl, who’s been accustomed to the school-work-school grind, to do with all this precious time?

I’ve decided to detox.  And no Dad, before you call me in a panic, I promise I am not a raging drug addict.

What I mean is I want to reevaluate my life, I want to rediscover the many puzzle pieces of my life and figure out if those pieces are still making up the best picture of myself.   Nicole over at More is Better, who decided to quit drinking for a while, said it the best:

“I decided to stop for five weeks, acknowledging a principal I’ve come to believe is true, that in order to continue to fall in love with ourselves over and over again, we need to get in the habit of putting things in our life down for a while to reexamine what they’re doing there in the first place.”

While I usually draw out a mind-map (like the kind you do in sixth grade to brainstorm short story ideas), instead I’m going to try out the “12 Answers” process that Tina Su at Think Simple Now recently wrote about in a really helpful post about applying effective problem solving toward unproductive frustration.  I’m really excited to see what answers I come up with…plus I love having any excuse to write a list (I’m Type A).

What do you do to reevaluate your life?  What are some things you’ve discovered about yourself recently?  What would you do with 14 days of freedom?

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 2:54 pm

    Hmm. This one’s easy for me to answer because I’ve done it. But I wasn’t nearly as methodical or forward-thinking as your approach. Instead, I went a little nutty, quit my 9-5 in exchange for a job waiting tables (umm… backwards much?), and went to Costa Rica to live and work for 2 months.

    In other words, I’m the cautionary tale for what can happen if you don’t take the time to think about these things now. I love your quote from Nicole, saying, “we need to get in the habit of putting things in our life down for a while to reexamine what they’re doing there in the first place.” I guess that’s what I was doing. Sure, it was extreme, but I just needed to put things down. I hadn’t been able to define it until now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

