Skip to content

I’m trading in my beer mug for a coffee mug

March 26, 2011

It’s 10:05 on a Saturday night and I am in bed.

Yes, I am 22 years old.

Yes, I am staying at my parents’ house part-time from now on to minimize the commute to my new job.

No, my parents are not going to bed yet.

Yes, that makes me feel old.

My first day at my new job is on Monday and while I am excited to start, I am not ready to be at work by 7:30 AM.  This means I have to be up by 6:00 AM every morning…and be in bed by 9:30 pm to have a full 8 hours of sleep.  Which is a necessity if I don’t want to turn into the angry zombie of myself (not attractive nor pleasant).

I don’t think I’ve been up that early since high school…four years ago.  Since then, my body has adjusted quite happily to my college schedule of waking up at 10 am and going to bed at 1:30 am.  I quite enjoy waking up at the perfect brunch time and staying up late enough to nibble on late-night munchies.

Sorry Taco Bell, no more fourth meals for me.

From now on, I’m joining the legion of early risers who chug more coffee than beer.

But before I can enjoy all that “early bird gets the worm” stuff, I need to go to bed first–which is where I’m stuck.  It’s 10:28 now and I’m no closer to dozing off than I was 23 minutes ago.  I would take a warm bath and have a warm glass of milk, but alas I don’t have a bath tub and I’m lactose-intolerant.

What helps you sleep at night…or get up early in the morning?  Are you an early riser or a night owl?

And a helpful tip from Toothpaste For Dinner



2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2011 8:11 am

    You know, I actually miss that part of the 9-5. The sunrise is underrated, in my humble opinion. The air is fresher in the morning, and a warm mug of coffee on your way to work is fantastic. Good luck getting adjusted to your new schedule!

  2. Danny permalink
    March 27, 2011 8:13 am

    Janie,

    When I need to go to bed early and cannot sleep, I read a textbook. When I need to get up early, I just walk around a drink coffee until I jitter.

Leave a Reply

