Skip to content

A reminder…

March 28, 2011

Dear Janie,

Today was your first day at your first grown-up job.  Congratulations!  You showed up to work early, remembered almost everybody’s name, and took some really good notes.  I know you were really nervous but you did great.

I know this wasn’t what you imagined your first job to be.  I know you won’t be using your college degree.  I know that you aren’t sure where this job will take you, whether you’ll like it, or what the hell you’re doing.

It’s ok.  Breathe.  You know you’ll eventually find your way, even if that means taking it day by day.

Now this is a full-time job, so you may have to give up Thursday martini nights or flying to Thailand on a whim.  Don’t fret.  When you finally buy your first car all on your own, you’ll be so proud of yourself.

You’re so excited about having paid vacation days, health insurance, and work experience and why shouldn’t you be?  Now you can finally go see that dentist you’ve been putting off.

But promise me something ok?  Promise me that you won’t forget how much you still want to go to Thailand.  How you want to get your Master’s Degree in anything.  How you want to have a garden.  How you want to go scuba diving, mountain climbing, and sky diving.  How you want to write down every single one of your mom’s recipes.  How you want to find your “dream job”.

Work hard at this new job and enjoy the perks.  But don’t lose sight of who you are and who you want to be.  Don’t forget that there are still many places to discover, people to meet, and adventures to experience.

You are not just an employee.  You are  a writer.  A traveler.  A sister and a daughter.  A cook.  A runner. A dreamer and a lover.  A girlfriend.  A best friend.  A reader and an explorer.  You are many things and be careful not to get so caught up in being a worker bee that you forget all the other parts of who you are.

Love,

Me

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 1:41 pm

    Great post. 🙂 I wish I would’ve written something like this to myself before I started my first post-college “real” job. Maybe then I wouldn’t have turned into such a hot mess!

  2. Lauren permalink
    April 9, 2011 8:01 pm

    Wow, this just brought me to tears! What a great idea that I’m going to need to do myself some day. Love you!

  3. austin permalink
    April 10, 2011 4:54 pm

    Can I make a promise too? I promise to be by your side when you accomplish all of these great things.

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

