Skip to content

I want to be a billionaire…so freakin’ bad

April 11, 2011

Last night, I ate Sebastian.

Eat me with butter!

And may I say, he was delicious.

You should also know that The Little Mermaid is my favorite movie.

Yesterday our local grocery store was selling whole cooked lobster for $3.99 each!  Austin and I have never had lobster before so we decided to jump on this deal even though we have no idea how to eat, much less cook, lobster.

After we arrived home and unwrapped them, I realized one very important fact: watching rich people in movies eating lobster is much more glamorous than trying to cook lobster at home.  They look so much more…real in real life.  Imagine that.

This fact was not helped when Austin cheerfully told me that lobsters are crustaceans and therefore what we were about to eat were in essence, giant sea bugsBugs.

Thank goodness we didn't name them...

I consider myself a pretty adventurous eater.  I’ve had veal sweetbread (pancreas), beef bone marrow, and jellyfish…but I definitively and absolutely draw the line at bugs.  They’re just so…slimy and crunchy and buggy-eyed and disgusting and…

I may be exaggerating just a bit.

Austin, being the big, brave man that he is, took the reins and cut the lobsters in half before setting them on the grill to cook for a bit.  We pulled the meat out of the tails and claws and dipped them in butter.  There wasn’t much meat in them because they were such little lobsters, but I imagine that professionally-cooked, restaurant-grade, jumbo lobster tails must be amazing.

Sigh…someday.  Someday I’m going to fly first-class (at least once!), own a designer dress (or just try one on), and eat lots and lots of lobster.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Danny permalink
    April 12, 2011 7:15 am

    1st class is soooo over rated! There was no orange juice + champagne glasses 😦 and the stewardesses were old and withered!

  2. April 12, 2011 2:04 pm

    Hahaha! I’ve never tried cooking them at home, but my sister and I splurged when we dined at a “celebrity” restaurant in Malibu on a roadtrip through California, and I honestly can’t say I’d order a whole lobster again. The waiter had to show us how to do it, and while the claw and tail meat was fantastic, having to work our way around the disgusting green liver(?) and all of the general work involved kind of negated that fact. I’d rather just order lobster tail than a whole lobster, and I’d probably pick crab legs over that. Now crabs are awesome! Uh…the kind you eat. Okay. I’ll just stop here.

Leave a Reply

