Skip to content

I don’t do downward dog.

June 4, 2011

There is nothing like doing P90X Yoga in your underwear to make you realize two things:

1. I am so out of shape.  Thank you work schedule and crazy summer heat.

2. I miss running.

I’ve always wished I were one of those girls who wake up at 4 am, with the cute little yoga pants and Gaiam yoga mat, doing perfect warrior poses and downward dogs without breaking a sweat to the sight of the rising sun, radiating zen and happiness and amazing balance.

But I’m not.  And honestly, I kind of hate yoga.

I know that’s like hating puppies and daisies and banana pudding…but I can’t help it.  I can’t touch my toes, I have absolutely no balance when I’m standing on two feet (much less one), and I have a tendency to fall asleep on my yoga mat.

So after I’d tipped over into another human pretzel mess, I made a decision.

I’ve decided to start running in the morning.  Before work.  As in at 5 in the morning.

I miss running down the trail behind my house, listening to nothing but sound of my own breath and the pounding of my Mizunos on the pavement.  But after a long day of work and with 90+ degree weather, I keep giving up on my daily runs.  And now I’m stuck doing attempting yoga and twisting my body in ways it was never meant to twist.

I’m putting this on my blog because this is a one week trial and by telling everyone about it, I’ll actually stick to it.  I want to see how this early morning run will effect my mood and energy throughout the day and if I can make the morning schedule work.  While definitely nervous, I’m excited to see what this week will be like.

So here’s my official announcement: HEY WORLD, I’M GOING TO RUN IN THE MORNING!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Your Sister permalink
    June 4, 2011 10:17 pm

    im going with you. like furrealz. i’ll actually wake up. but you’re going to have to come downstairs and flip on the light and pull off my covers. deal?

  2. danny permalink
    June 5, 2011 11:16 am

    Janie, if you want to run to some super moto cadences, I think Austin and I could get your 3 mile down to 18 minutes….

Leave a Reply

